The Book Fests Award!

This post I am so very excited for because this is the first time that I have ever been nominated for AN AWARD!!! I’ve basically been bouncing around my house for the entire time since I found out about the nomination! This is such an honor for me! I’ve seen so many Award posts on other blogs and I never thought I would ever be the one to write one of those post, honestly!the book fest awards.png

I want to thank Book Fests so much for nominating me and you should head on over there to check out their blog, if you haven’t already!! They are the creators of this award and therefore I feel even more honored to have been nominated! By the way, they also have a Goodreads group, so you can check them out there as well!

The Questions:

  1. A book you started but never finished…but want to finish. What stopped you from continuing to read it?

Well, this one is really hard for me to admit, but I haven’t finished The Game of Lives by 23257464James Dashner!! I am really ashamed of this fact because I love James Dashner, his writing style and also his way of building worlds and developing characters. I really enjoyed the first two books in the The Mortality Doctrine series and also the beginning of this third book, but at some point I put it down and haven’t picked it up again. I REALLY don’t know why and I definitely have to start it again as soon as I finish The Lunar Chronicles! I absolutely fell in love with this book’s world and the characters – and writing this just has me longing to pick up the book again!!

 

2. What elements attract you to a book, which makes you need to read it?

A book definitely has to have an interesting plot line! What good are incredible characters if what they’re doing sucks? Then, of course, you can have the best story ever but, would you still read that story with sucky characters? These really are the main things that attract me to books, but then there also are the superficial elements – Yeas, I am super superficial when it comes to choosing which books I want to read! What’s really important to me, when I don’t know a book yet, is the cover! I’m a sucker for good covers and they are an important part of the book to me. But of course it’s not all that counts!

 

3. Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

I prefer having hard copies, specifically paperbacks, for multiple reasons. For one, it just makes me feel so accomplished, looking at all my books on my bookshelf and noticing the amount growing all the time! And then there’s the real reason… THE SMELL!!!giphy10

Who doesn’t love the smell of a new paperback book?!?! You don’t get that smell from your Kindle y’know!! But now let’s get to e-books. Their main advantage is the price. I am a student and if it wasn’t for my job besides school I couldn’t afford as many hard copies as I buy… Also Kindle books (that’s what I use at least) are much handier. You can just grab your phone anywhere and start reading. It’s harder with hard copies, especially for me since I always wrap them in some protective thingy – it’s annoying as heck to wrap and unwrap a book for a few minutes on the train.

 

4. What book are you currently reading or going to read next?

Currently I am reading Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer, as well as Josh and Hannah (Redwood Falls #1)  by Lynda Chance (I don’t know if I’m going to finish that one honestly). The books I am going to read next are obviously Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer for one and I also want to read Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

 

5. Is it fair to judge a book by its film?

NO, IT OBVIOUSLY ISN’T! I am not one of those people who hates movies that are based on books as soon as they come out. Quite often I actually like them even though they’re not that close to the book and I always try to understand the difficulties of adapting a movie to a book. But ignoring all the differences in characters, plot and whatever else you still can’t compare them! It’s a completely different experience and in books the writing style obviously plays a very important role and just because you enjoy the general story the movie presented doesn’t mean you’ll like it in combination with the author’s writing style. This works vice versa as well of course!

 

6. What book did you badly judge by its cover and ended up loving?

I really don’t have many of these books, because as I’ve said before I am really superficial when it comes to books and I rarely buy ones with bad covers… AND I didn’t find a single book where I didn’t like the cover but liked the book itself anyways.

 

7. Which book character have you felt the most kin with and able to relate with?

There have been a lot of characters that I’ve been able to relate to on my reading journey so far. Recently the one I’ve felt the greatest connection to was Cinder from …Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) This might seem kind of conceited because I wrote mostly good things about her in my review of Cinder but of course she has her faults as well. One characteristic about her that I love very much and that I feel like I have as well is her ability to choose her battles and walk away form a fight if it isn’t important enough or useless to fight!

 

This award also requires a 50 word story, so here we go! Please don’t laugh at my non-existent writing skills:

Cold. Hunger. Tired. Ever since her family had left her these were the thoughts keeping her brain occupied without a single break. With nowhere to turn to Tacey was cast out during the annual eradication. During this process all seventeen-year old children were tested, to find out their own unique magical abilities. Magic – it meant everything nowadays. Twisting and turning to find a somewhat comfortable position underneath her old and worn blanket, the only thing she could take with her from home, Tacey tried to distract herself from all the things running through her head. If only she possessed magic as well – she could still be with her siblings, her parents, her friends. She wouldn’t have to lie on the ice-cold ground, with only the forest around her for cover. If only…

 

For this award I want to nominate:

Also, if anyone else would like to do this award, FEEL NOMINATED! My question for y’all is “Is there a series that you’d rather have read as a standalone novel? If yes, why?”

I hope y’all had fun reading this post and thank you for reading it! It was certainly fun writing this! 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Book Fests Award!

Leave a comment