Midnight Hour (Shadow Falls After Dark #4) by C.C. Hunter

Short Description:

Being a dyslexic witch is a curse in itself, but Miranda Kane’s time at Shadow Falls has helped her harness her magical powers. Now, just as she’s finally mastered them and is preparing to graduate with her friends, a near-death experience threatens to ruin it all.

Miranda awakens in the hospital with a mysterious tattoo that no one can explain. As she struggles to make sense of it – and questions her feelings for a certain irresistible shape-shifter and a hot new guy – the strange markings begin to spread all over her body, leaving her desperate to find answers. But before she can solve that problem, a new one arises: her sister is missing.

Has her sister been kidnapped? Miranda will risk her life to find out. Will she live to share the day she’s worked so hard for with her friends? When the clock strikes midnight, will Miranda make it to her graduation at Shadow Falls?

C.C. Hunter brings The Shadow Falls saga to a spectacular conclusion in this thrilling finale: Midnight Hour!

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Find this books on Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Bookdepository.com

What’s it about?

First off some main info:midnight-hour-cover

Author: C.C. Hunter

Title: Midnight Hour

Published: October 25th, 2016

Series: Shadow Falls After Dark #4

Version: St. Martin’s Griffin (416 pages)

Would I recommend it: I can very much recommend both book series she has written and advise any fan of supernatural things to read them!

Rating: 5+ Stars

5-stars-updated

This book is the final installment in the Shadow Falls After Dark series, the Shadow Falls series and at the same time a Standalone novel – at least in my opinion. The female protagonist in this novel is Miranda, a dyslexic witch who is a loyal companion to the protagonists of the earlier mentioned series. Now it is here time to find out who she really is and what’s important in life! As this is the last part of two series (basically) you should have read the series before reading this book!

My Opinion:

Just let me tell y’all I loved this book and I hated it at the same time! I loved it for what it was – amazing – but hated that it was the last installment in one of my favorite series – I think y’all know that feeling 😉 The book was everything I could have wished for to end this series and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it! It has funny scenes, really emotional ones and it makes you get mad at people – Perfect mix!! 😉Luckily I have another AMAZING book lined up otherwise I’d have a major book hangover!!

giphy

One majorly appealing factor about this book is the author’s writing style! Some authors might have a good writing style but keep that one throughout the whole book even in scenes where a different one would be suitable. C. C. Hunter doesn’t do this though, she can adapt her writing to several situations and therefore she can give her books scenes where you have to hold your breath, ones that make you snort and laugh out loud, but also romantic ones without using graphic language. These changes between styles keep you very interested and make the book a quite fast read that stays in your mind after finishing it! The distribution of POVs is quite nice as well, as I like to know a little more than either one of the protagonists and C.C. Hunter placed them really effectively! I love it! Also the author often creates “inside jokes” between characters, which you can find multiple times within her books and those are another aspect that causes A LOT of funny and memorable moments in the novel! Just saying:

“She had boob sweat. She hated boob sweat.”

Of course one of the most important elements in this/a book is the story. This one is really well thought through and the steps it takes make sense, I also never had the feeling that anything was cut short or unnecessarily prolonged, which, if it does happen, is one of my biggest pet peeves in books!!!! I absolutely hate it when I feel like the author takes away quality time with my characters from me! I love the way this book introduces a new “kind” of supernatural, as all the other books did as well,  and makes this side story fit perfectly in with the rest. The author has a great way of combining all the different aspects of the protagonists’ lives without it being awkward or anything like that, contrary the author even combines every single story, or even story element (like a person for example), into one organic plot – again without awkwardness 👍🏼 Good job C. C. Hunter… Good job. What I, personally, liked very much was that the love story, which was essential for the whole story, didn’t seem like it was made out to be too important – it was just really low key, but not too low key. Does anybody get me?? I hope y’all do! The storyline also had many different facets that were all done very well, like romance, suspense, friendship, bravery and all that jazz, which I already mentioned when talking about the writing style!

Now let’s get to the essence of the book – the characters! I just have to say again how happy I am that Miranda finally gets her own book! She is a wonderful person with amazing abilities and a matching character! Sadly she often doesn’t think too highly of herself and questions her abilities without having a reason to and I can connect with her on that level, so to me she is a really relateable! She is also extremely loyal and mostly very honest, and she always treats people the best she can, which uses A LOT of patience! We see her loyalty and characteristics like that in her relationship to her best friends, who still play a big role in this book even though there aren’t really any new facets of their characters introduced! One thing that I admire a lot about Miranda is how she finds her strength in hard situations and how she can make great choices under pressure even though she might hurt people by doing so, which is one of her biggest fears because of how deeply she loves/cares for others!

Of course there are many interesting side characters that add a lot to the story but lastly let’s focus on the male protagonist! I have loved Perry since he was first introduced as a minor character in the first series by this author, and my love has grown ever since! He really is a perfect match for Miranda as he shares a lot of her traits and values, like love, friendship, honesty, but he has a horrible self-perception! He thinks so horribly low of himself that it makes me sad to read about. He doesn’t feel like he deserves Miranda which causes him to hurt her a lot on  his quest to become “worthy” *cough* Which he already is *cough, cough* One aspect that I love about his character in this book is how we get to explore his deep relationship to Burnett some more – which I honestly forgot ab out until I started reading this book… 😅 I’m thoroughly ashamed of myself!   I also like his sense of responsibility and justice, and that he stays fair even though he is emotionally involved in the matter!

Overall I want to say once again how much I love these book series by C.C. Hunter and that I can definitely recommend them to any YA Fantasy fan …. or just YA fan, who doesn’t hate Fantasy 😉, in general!!

One thought on “Midnight Hour (Shadow Falls After Dark #4) by C.C. Hunter

Leave a Reply

