Book Shuffle | September 2016

Hi Guys, today it’s time for this month’s Book Shuffle! The Book Shuffle is a monthly meme created and hosted by Shannon @ Clockwork Bibliophile and if you want to find out more about it just check out her first post about this meme explaining it and such! πŸ™‚ This is just going to be a shortie today, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless! πŸ™‚

This time my shuffle button spit out Overtime by Hoodie AllenΒ and I matched it with All Lined Up (Rusk University #1) by Cora Carmack!

The Song

Hoodie Allen my favorite rapper along with Drake, so it’s no wonder that I really like this song πŸ˜… I really like about this song that it’s pretty chill and listening to it relaxes me a lot actually! And another think that I like about it are the lyrics – well the way I understand them at least, which might be utter bullshit! I understand the song to be about putting hard work towards your goals and not giving up however hard it becomes…. Is that about right? If not I’m screwed because that is my reasoning for my choice of book πŸ˜…

 

The Book

I chose All Lined Up by Cora Carmack mainly because of my interpretation of the song’s lyrics! Carson, the male lead in the book, used to go to a junior college and has just transferred to Rusk University. There he has to work very hard to show his dedication to the football team and how good he is at playing the game! A lot of the teammates don’t take him seriously so he really has to fight for the acceptance of him and his skills. So I think the motto of working your ass off to achieve your dreams connects the song and the book! As you can see I don’t have too much to say about this book since, while I did like it, I don’t have really big emotions towards the characters in this first book. The series is definitely worth a read though!!

 

Do you know this song? What book would you match it up with? Thanks for reading y’all!

❀

Leave a Reply

