My First Unboxing! | Fairy Loot |

I am so very excited for this post! I have wanted one of these subscription boxes for FOREVER, and finally I got to order one! I chose to order the FairyLoot Box for this first experience and I think this was the best decision I could have made! First off let me explain a little something about FairyLoot! FairyLoot is a monthly, Young Adult Fantasy subscription box based in London, UK. You can either order a single box, a three month subscription, or a six month subscription. It the box you’ll receive there will be a newly released YA book and 4 – 6 goodies matching the month’s theme! You can find out more about FairyLoot here.

Now let’s get to the good part! This month’s theme was Magic and Mayhem and it  was created with fans of The Grisha Trilogy, The Six of Crows series, and the A Shade of Magic series in mind. Here’s what I thought of this box:

I knew I loved this box as soon as I opened the flap, as, first off this box is just beautiful with all the black and the FairyLoot logo on the front, and secondly when you open said flap there’s a quote from Coraline by Neil Gaiman on the box:

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

 

The first thing I saw when opening the box (after the awesome design) was a card with the month’s theme picture on it and information about the contents of the box on the back – Of course I didn’t read that until after unboxing! I really liked the design of this picture and it matched the theme very well, and I like the way they describe the little goodies as well!

20160923_145441

Then came all these freaking cute paper stuff zigzag things in this beautiful lavender shade and – I am sorry for saying how cute and beautiful everything is – they give this box a pop of color that works very well with the black! Here are the real goodies:

  • Candle by Castle of Fables: These exclusive candles were created to represent the three different Grisha orders. I have to admit that I haven’t read The Grisha Trilogy yet so I had no clue what the  Etheralki on my candle meant 😅 But I did know that it smelled really good and it has a really pretty color! After I read that it was all about the Grisha orders I looked it up online and found out that my candle represents “The Order of Summoners, who are Grisha, whose power focuses on different elements”. I am happy that I got this order, as I really like powers that include use of the elements, so please don’t tell me they are the assholes of the story!! Please!!

20160923_145625

  • Bookmark by Behind The Pages: Next thing was a beautifully designed bookmark matching the book that came in this box – which…I kinda spoiled just now! So sorry, guys! I really like the dark design and it matches the book cover perfectly!

20160923_145701

  • Buttons/Badges by BookOtter: These are four badges/buttons created for fans of A Shade of Magic (which I also haven’t read yet) and exclusively for this box! I love these exclusive things, and even though I don’t even know the basic storyline of A Shade of Magic I think they’re pretty cute and I love the quote on the first one!

20160923_145756

  • Sticker by BookOtter: Next thing was a Felis Felicis sticker that was exclusively designed for FairyLoot! I immediately stuck it to the back of my laptop so maybe I’ll have some more luck with writing reviews 😅

20160923_145906

  • Necklace by Pastel Clouds Jewelry: This is my favorite goodie from this box!! The necklace has a little Matrjoshka doll charm on it, that again fits the books topic! I am absolutely in love with the necklace, it is just so beautiful and I can’t wait to wear it! It has a really nice length and feels like it’s of quite good quality!
  • Poster by GoodNightKittens: Again, I haven’t read the Grisha Trilogy yet and I don’t know anything about it, but I really like the dark color scheme and the design. It’s a Grisha Second Army mini poster and I’m probably going to decorate one of my notebooks with it 😊

20160923_150023

  • Notebook by Literary Emporium: Again this is Grisha themed and also exclusively designed for this box! I think it’s awesome that FairyLoot is able to provide so many exclusive items and they all are a very great match for the theme of this month! And – I can never have enough notebooks!!

20160923_150222

Bonus Item:

  • Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom postcards: Again these were exclusive and I think they have really great designs and these books are definitely on my TBR  list!

20160923_15014120160923_150153

 

The Book: Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shoes, go to 28220892parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now—but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling out again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters—and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. So when Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa just might be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair. . . .

Inspired by the Russian folktale Vassilissa the Beautiful and Sarah Porter’s years of experience teaching creative writing to New York City students.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

The Synopsis of this book seems really interesting and what I’ve read so far is promising, I can’t wait to read it, but I am pretty busy right now so it might take some time! I love the cover and – I can’t count how many times I have already said this – I love books that are based on fairytales, mythology, folklore and things like that so that is an extra plus point right there!!

 

Summing up my experience with FairyLoot I can say that I totally loved my box and I am planning on ordering the November box as well – I am ALREADY excited for that one!

What are your experiences with subscription boxes? Have you ordered a FairyLoot box before?

9 thoughts on “My First Unboxing! | Fairy Loot |

  1. thriceread says:

    I tried to get one of these boxes, but they were all sold out by the time I got a chance to look into getting one! I’m going to have to see what the next couple months themes are going to be for this box!

    -Caitlynn, Thrice Read

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tammy @ a word about books says:

      It smells great 😉😁 and yes, shipping can really make the price go up, I have that problem too, but I just had to have one!!

      Like

    • Tammy @ a word about books says:

      I can definitely recommend this box! I thought about owl crate too but since they’re based in the US shipping would be expensive and it would’ve probably taken much longer to ship 😅

      Like

Leave a Reply

