When Stars Collide by Micalea Smeltzer

Short description:

We were like two stars orbiting each other—dancing around the possibility that one day we might collide. When we finally did, we opened up a black hole, obliterating everything around us. No one would be the same.
Least of all, us.

Waking up in Vegas married to the guy of your dreams sounds like a good thing, right? Not when you’re Thea Montgomery and said guy is your brother’s best friend.

Thea and Xander have always avoided the connection between them because her brother would never approve. Now, they’re married— the strongest bond you can have as a couple—and they’re not even a real couple…unless they want to be.

Thea wants an annulment immediately, but Xander’s waited too long to see her become his and he won’t let her go easily.

If she wants a divorce, fine, but he wants the summer to convince her that he’s the one. If at the end of the summer she still wants to end their marriage he’ll sign the papers, but until then…

All is not fair in love and war.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

Find this book as ebook or paperback on Amazon.com

What’s it about?

First off some main info:30130144

Author: Micalea Smeltzer

Title: When Stars Collide

PublishedAugust 30th, 2016

Series: Light in the Dark #2

Version: Amazon Kindle Version (267 pages)

Would I recommend it: Yes, for 16+ if you like  romance!

Rating: 4.5 Stars

4.5 Stars Turquoise

This is the second book in the Light in the Dark series with the first installment being Rae of Sunshine. This book follows Thea and Xander who have been friends since they were little kids and have always felt a deep connection towards one another. The obstacle, that kept them from being together, was always Thea’s brother Cade  and even now, after getting married in Vegas, obstacles stand in their way as they try to somehow make their marriage work!

 

My Opinion

First off let me say that I have been waiting for this book forever!! I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series (which I didn’t know was a series back then) and I was excited to find out how the story around Rae, Cade and their friends would continue, but let me say that I didn’t expect the story to be like this at all! This is not a bad thing though, since I feel like the storyline of this book was a plot twist within itself! This “plot twist” made me want to read this book even more and it was definitely worth it as I could find out more about the characters that I learnt to love, from a different perspective!

As far as the writing style goes I know and I’m used to Micalea Smeltzer’s by now and I enjoy her writing style very much! It is light and easy to read and it has very nice flow to it, that makes it hard to not keep going! Her writing style has really never disappointed me and I am happy to say that it didn’t happen in this book either!

The storyline in this book was very well thought through and contained really interesting and unforeseeable elements, in the form of little side stories. These side stories are what give this book its character and appeal, because they divide this book from others of its genre that are very predictable and always follow a certain pattern! This one did too, since it is a part of the Romance/New Adult genre, but the stories surrounding the main plot diverted the attention and let me forget about the pattern! This was great for once cause I often think about what is going to happen a lot and I kinda spoil the book for me myself…. So rude of me! 😉  In this book though, I could only predict one main part of the story (Except the ending, of course), that one being the main “down” of the story shortly before the end. But about that I have to say that the first book in this series already kinda led up to that moment by revealing parts of the family background to the reader, that had to escalate at some point! I really like every little part of the story – it really fits the characters!

Thea is the female lead in this book and she is an easily likable character! On the outside this girl seems like just another pretty girl but when you get to know her better you notice that she’s just weird – I love weird! And when Thea lets out her crazy it makes for some pretty funny parts in the book 😄 She also cares deeply about her family and friends, but at the same time she keeps her families secret for a long time and is weak in this regard – but I have to say that this is understandable! Thea is a really funny person and that lightens up the mood of this romance novel a lot as her mood influences the tone of the writing! I absolutely love Xander, the male lead, who is a lot like Thea! He is really compassionate and this is shown on multiple occasions, which result in one of the cutest scenes in my whole reading history!! SO CUTE! Also his passion for the things he loves is admirable and he tries to pursue his happiness while also being there for his family and trying to protect the people he loves! This quality results in a few inner conflicts within Xander as he feels like he can’t pursue the career he wants without hurting his father. The other male character that was quite prominent was Thea’s older brother Cade. So far I only knew the “fun” side of Cade as a friend and boyfriend but in this book we learned of his brotherly side! This side of him can be really funny but just as aggressive, especially when he’s confronted with Thea’s relationship as he is a overprotective brother! But who wouldn’t be with an abusive father…

One thing that I didn’t like too much was the execution of the “down” close to the end. I think it could’ve been drawn out a little more, since it was a pretty important event. But I can’t imagine how hard it must be to always get the proportions of important elements right, so it’s not a big minus point as the scene was still pretty nicely written!

4.5 Stars Turquoise

P.S. I know this might not be the best review ever written, but I’m proud that I at least got my lazy butt up and posted a review again!!

One thought on “When Stars Collide by Micalea Smeltzer

Leave a Reply

