Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

Short description:

In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

(This is a Synopsis from Goodreads)

You can find the book on the Book Depository!

What’s it about?

First off some main info:13206828

Author: Marissa Meyer

Title: Cress

Published: January 27th, 2015

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3

Version: Square Fish Paperback (592 pages)

Would I recommend it: YEEESS guys, YES!

Rating: 5+ Stars

5+ Stars Rating

As we continue following the adventures of Cinder and Co. we get to meet a new main character along the way – Cress! Cress is a Lunar shell who was locked in a satellite for the majority of her life, having to spy on the Eastern Commonwealth for thaumaturge Mira. A rescue mission, carried out by the Rampion crew, goes wrong leaving Cress and Thorne stranded in a dessert and separated from their friends/allies. This story loosely follows the plot of the classic fairytale “Rapunzel” and has you watching out for the next similarity!

My Opinion:

Once again Marissa Meyer did not disappoint with her third book in the The Lunar Chronicles series! Reading this book was just amazing, as was getting to know Cress, and it was one of those books that you want to finish reading, but at the same time you don’t because it’s just too good!! THE STRUGGLE!! What do I want more?

giphy

My overall opinion about the story is completely positive and I absolutely loved it, which is not a surprise to me at all! Not only my beloved characters made this book amazing but the storyline did as well! Once again the author perfectly balanced the fairytale components with the futuristic setting of this book and I absolutely love that about her writing style! She has this great ability to draw her readers in by doing exactly what I just mentioned as well as creating amazing and deep characters and giving all of them a lot of “screen-time”. I am just absolutely in love with this author! 🙂 ❤

One thing that was a little different in this book, compared to the others, was the distribution of POV’s. In the first two books Meyer kept the main attention on the main character but in this third installment she changes up this pattern. If you didn’t know who the lead was you wouldn’t necessarily think that it was Cress – judging from the POV’s. At first this kind of bothered me, since I really enjoyed the way she handled this in her first two books, but as soon as I got a little further into the story I noticed that the change was necessary and it really matched the plotline! Now more characters got their own chapters and also more than one at a time. This also made it possible for the readers to find out more about what’s going on in the others’ minds.

One more thing I should really mention about her writing style is that you always notice who she is writing as at the beginning of every chapter! She doesn’t achieve this by mentioning the character at the very beginning of a chapter, but by having really uniquely written characters that you just have to recognize! Obviously she mentions the names at some point since she writes in 3rd person, but still…

About the story there’s really just to say that it is as well thought through as the others but it contains a little more action and suspense and at the same time more romance than the first two books and I really enjoyed this as well! As said before, the group gets ripped apart and therefore it is needed to let more characters  have their own chapters so the reader will still know what is going on. Because of this we were able to find out a little bit more about Captain Thorne which I absolutely loved because he is one of my favorite characters – well… they all kinda are – and I am completely in love with him!!

One of my favorite parts about the story itself are any scenes involving Lunar control! They often are really confusing, because you never really know what is free will and isn’t, but also they are as awesome as they are confusing! Now, while talking about Lunars, I should also mention that I enjoyed the insights into Lunar customs and such, that were gained through Lunar POVs and also through Scarlet’s sidestory. It was amazing to experience more of this complex, though cruel, society that Marissa Meyer has built for us to read about. Scarlet’s story and the way she was treated throughout the book has basically destroyed me!

giphy2

It was horrible to read but great at the same time and a major advantage of it was, that it brought the Lunar culture and also their cruelty closer to the readers!

Now let’s talk a little more about characters!

Cress is the major character that was newly introduced in this book and *I know I’m repeating myself* I absolutely love her! She is such a great and different character, compared to the others, and I admire  a lot of her character traits. Cress definitely is a dreamer and her whole character is just lovely! I feel like, in real life, she would be the kind of person that never has anything bad to say about anyone and always tries to see the best in people. I also find it very relatable how childlike her wonder is when she discovers new things after she was broke out of her satellite. The description of her wonder is just as amazing as her wonder itself and it’s brought to the reader’s attention  very well!

Sadly, I have to admit that Cress probably has better social skills than I do – and that after spending her whole life trapped in a satellite! Kinda embarrassing…                                              While reading this series I also got the feeling that the three female main characters were leading up to one another. But that might be just me:

Character stats

Of course there was also Carswell Thorne as the male “lead” who is just as great as in the second book, but we do get to know him a lot more and, as I said earlier, I loved that part about the book. But there is a male character whose development I found even more interesting!

Kai! I have loved Kai from his first appearance in the first book, but reading about him in this third book has brought him even closer to me. In the first two books we got glimpses of his personality but in this one we got a more in-depth look at the young emperor. I think Kai has an astonishing character and he is an amazing emperor considering his age and experience! It was also great to see how deeply Kai really cares about Cinder even though he tried to ignore it, or at least not act on it.

~ I absolutely love THEIR ending!~ 

So this was my third review in the Lunar Chronicles and I hoped you liked hearing my opinion on this book! I really enjoy writing these “reviews” and I hope y’all enjoy reading them! Thank y’all for reading this one and have a wonderful night! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Laura @readinglust says:

    This book is so much fun, Cress’s proper introduction was just wonderful, and she has to be my favourite female in the series (although I do love them all). It’s just so different to get such a different female lead since these days I only read about the badass heroines. Cress was just delightful, and her naïve personality made me love her even more. Especially her infatuation with Captain Thorne! I hope you enjoy the rest of the series, because these books are just excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tammy @ a word about books says:

      I also loved her way of coping with the unknown by picturing herself as an actress for example! I think the author has found a way to give all these characters such unique personalities and I admire her a lot for that! While this book was my favorite so far, Cinder will always be my favorite character! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

