Mini-Review: Unexpected Reality by Kaylee Ryan

Short description:

Expect the unexpected. That’s what they say, but it’s easier said than done.

How do you expect a change so huge it rocks you to your core?

How do you prepare yourself for an event that will alter your life forever?

One breath
One second
One minute
One hour
One day at a time, you learn to live with your unexpected reality.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

What’s it about?

30254013

First off some main info:

Author: Kaylee Ryan

Title: Unexpected Reality

Published:

Series: Standalone novel

Version: Amazon Kindle Version

Would I recommend it: Yes, as a light read

Rating: 3.5 Stars

3.5 Stars Rating

I am not going to explain a lot about what this book is about, just because I feel like anything would be a spoiler, since the Synopsis is not very generous with information. But what I can tell y’all – and what you can guess from the cover – is that Ridge, the main character, unexpectedly becomes Dad!

My Opinion:

As the title says, this is going to be a short review and I won’t go too in-depth with my reasoning and all that stuff. Even though I gave this book “only” 3.5 Stars, I enjoyed it a lot. It was a light and cute book with a sweet storyline that didn’t really have any unexpected elements. Even the elements that were supposed to be unexpected just weren’t, since you always expect something to happen if the whole book was happy so far. Right in the beginning I thought the book would surround different people and I was kind of glad that it didn’t but still kept the plot connected to said people. The overall tone of this book was, as said before, mostly happy and sweet.

About the characters I can say that they were like the story itself – sweet but also light and without much depth. The main characters were very likable but didn’t have a lot of development, nor depth to them. Ryan became a really sweet  and loving Dad which I wouldn’t have expected to go so well. Kendall, the female lead, was the typical girl next door and once again in her personality there was nothing unexpected. Sometimes I felt like she took over Ridge’s son too much and I didn’t like that too much.

The author’s writing style was mostly good but it just wasn’t MY style. Her wording was sometimes kind of off to me, but overall it didn’t bother me too much.

Overall I want to say that I enjoyed this book very much as a light, romantic, in-between read. Every now and then I like to read these kinds of books and this hasn’t disappointed me at all!

Thank y’all for reading this shortie and I hope y’all have a wonderful time! 🙂

P.S.: I have a Twitter account for this blog now and if you’d like to follow it, here’s the name: @awordaboutbooks

One thought on “Mini-Review: Unexpected Reality by Kaylee Ryan

Leave a Reply

