Oblivion (Lux series #1.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Short description:

Experience the epic love story of OBSIDIAN as told by its hero, Daemon Black…

I knew the moment Katy Swartz moved in next door, there was going to be trouble. Lots of it.

And trouble’s the last thing I need, since I’m not exactly from around here. My people arrived on Earth from Lux, a planet thirteen billion light years away. Plus, if there’s one thing I know, it’s that humans can’t be trusted. We scare them. We can do things they only dream about, and honestly, we make them look weak as hell. ‘Cuz they are.

But Kat is getting to me in ways no one else has, and I can’t stop myself from wanting her—or wanting to use my powers to protect her. She makes me weak, and I’m the strongest of our kind, tasked with protecting us all. So this one simple girl…she can mean the end for us. Because the Luxen have an even bigger enemy—the Arum, and I need to stay on my game.

Falling for Katy—a human—won’t just place her in danger. It could get us all killed, and that’s one thing I’ll never let happen…

(This is a Synopsis from Goodreads)

You can find the book on Amazon)

What’s it about?

First off some main info:25209521

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Oblivion

Published: December 1st, 2015

Series: The Lux series #1.5 (I guess)

Version: Amazon Kindle Version  (352 pages)

This is actually a bundle of books. Both, the second and third book, were in the Amazon version as well! So amazing!

Would I recommend it:  Yes

Rating: 5 Stars

5 Stars Rating

 

This book has the same basic storyline  as Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, but this time it is told from the point of view of Daemon, and therefore presents a lot more facades of the story. If you haven’t read the first book in this series you should check out Sasha’s review of this book!

 

My Opinion:

I am a HUGE fan of Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books (she is currently my favorite author) and this one was no exception! I loved Obsidian a lot, but due to the POV there are inevitably things that you don’t really understand *cough* Daemon’s behaviour *cough* and that give you a wrong image of a character’s personality. Since this book is written from Daemon’s POV it opens up some new story elements, it also uncovers all those mysteries of his behavior and this is an element that I enjoyed very much because I just love to know what’s going on in all the character’s heads! I also love this book (and the entire series) because of its genre! I am a sucker for all things paranormal and alien!

This brings me to my first point, which is Daemon as a character. I already loved Daemon in the “original” Lux series and my love for him only grew – enormously – in this book. Through his POV in this book it becomes even clearer what a loving person Daemon is. He cares so incredibly much about his little sister that you just HAVE to forgive him for being a complete dickhead towards Katie! And this is so understandable as well! Come on, his brother “died” because of a human and they’re a huge liability to the Luxen – Also, we all know that humans suck, just look at the news… But through this POV you start to understand Daemon’s struggles and why exactly he is so hot and cold towards Katie. He believes it is necessary, and with any other person it probably would be. Also Daemon is just as sarcastic as Katie, and who doesn’t like sarcasm? Furthermore you also realize on several occasions how much Daemon cares about Katie, even though he doesn’t want to and how this tears him apart!

Another thing that I liked a lot was how Daemon always commented conversations! The things he said were hilarious due to his sarcasm and I had to laugh so much while reading this book! Also: BATTLE SCENES! When reading the story from Katie’s perspective you only read about the fighting in an observant way. But when reading as Daemon you are actually part of the battle and get more out of the fighting scenes with the Arum! Fighting scenes were actually some of my favorite parts in this book.

I don’t really have to say much about the writing style of this book. Except letting Daemon’s character be part of the writing style it is just Armentrout’s typical writing style and that is awesome! I love her writing style because it has a good flow and is just over all great! I love it!

 

I am sorry that this is such a short review but I hope you enjoyed it anyways! I am on an american time schedule for the next five weeks so my posts are going to be posted later, since I always post them in the evenings. That plus the time difference could result in T5W on Thursday 😀 Well, hopefully not!! Have a great time you guys and thankyou so, so much for reading! 🙂

One thought on “Oblivion (Lux series #1.5) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

