Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

Short description:

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

(Synopsis from Goodreads)

As usual you can find the book here.

What’s it about?

First off some main info:18139931

Author: Marissa Meyer

Title: Scarlet

PublishedFebruary 4th, 2014

Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2

Version: Square Fish Paperback (452 pages)

Would I recommend it: Absolutely!!!

Rating: 5+ Stars

5+ Stars Rating

This book is the second installment in The Lunar Chronicles and therefore takes place in the same world as Cinder did. (You can find my review for that one here) But in this book the main action takes place in France, more specifically in Rieux and Paris, and follows the adventure of Scarlet Benoit and the street fighter know as Wolf as they try to find out more about the disappearance of Scarlet’s grandmother. Well … some more than others, I’d say.

This review contains spoilers about the first book!

My Opinion:

OMG guys! This book was exactly everything I could’ve ever dreamt of for the second novel in this series. It was an amazing read and I am still so happy to have started this series in the first place! SO HAPPY!!

giphy9

Obviously, and luckily, the fairytale theme continues in this second book of The Lunar Chronicles and this time the retold fairytale is Little Red Riding Hood. Once again Marissa Meyer has left me speechless with her subtle, but beautiful, way of incorporating the main points of a fairytale into the futuristic world she has built for this book series. I am a huge fan of that! Another thing that was done just as well as in the first book, was how she combined the main and the “side” POVs and how she timed the meeting of Cinder, Scarlet and their companions. Well, the second part was exclusive to this book obviously, since in the first book the POVs are connected from the beginning. Another thing that I really enjoyed about the storytelling was, that the connection between Scarlet and Cinder became pretty clear, very soon. This gave the reader a little more knowledge than Scarlet and it drove me crazy to combine all the clues from the different storylines but I absolutely loved it!!!

Also the author once more incorporated the image of an opinionated society, that likes to pick on and exclude those who are different, which is a continuation from the first novel, but I was still astonished with her ability to build this realistic society in a future world. I found very good that, in Paris, she included real buildings (e.g. the Louvre) and mentioned what happened to them during the war. That helped a lot with the description of the surroundings that I also liked a lot.

Now let me tell you some of the main story elements that I really enjoyed. Firstly, compared to the first book there is a lot more romancy stuff going on. It’s still not a lot (which is pretty nice every once in a while) but, once again, it’s really subtle and fits into the storyline perfectly. I feel like the book just wouldn’t be the same with too much romance in it and I think it’s – I’m definitely overusing the word – perfect the way it is. I also found an element of the “sidestory” very well done and very interesting. Cinder learning more about herself and her powers. I loved Cinder almost as soon as I first met her, so I was really excited when I could continue reading about her and following her struggles with getting to know her abilities as well as finding out about her past. The things she finds out often are kind of traumatizing – at least for me it would be – but she deals with them really well.

One of my absolute favorite plot parts were The loyal soldiers to the order of the pack. I totally am a fan of secret societies and even though those guys turned out to be something else, they seemed like one in the beginning. Well, even though they weren’t a secret organisation they were one of my favorite part of the story, probably because the were the evil guys in this book…

So now I want to talk a little bit about the characters. Scarlet Benoit is a hardworking girl, that lives a very down-to-earth life and is happy with it as long as she has her grandmother. She is very loyal to this woman who has been a constant in her life for most of it and who has taught her to be open-minded towards others. This differentiates her from the rest of the provincial citizens who are very narrow-minded. As said earlier, Scarlet is very down to earth which makes her a really likable and, to me, relatable character. Scarlet also sticks to her opinions and tells people when they’re wrong – desperately needed in her hometown. The male main part is taken by the street fighter Wolf who appears to be a mysterious, but still lovable character with mad anger issues. As the book continues one learns about the reasons for both, his mysteriousness and his anger issues. In contrary to Wolf’s anger issues he is also very shy and he behaves in a way that made him pretty trust worthy until….I love how Wolf changes throughout the story even though we only learn about that after it has already happened. Now about the side characters. For one, there aren’t really as many as in Cinder but the ones that are there are awesome. Four words for you: I LOVE CARSWELL THORNE!! ❤ He has so many amazing character traits and I can’t wait to learn more about him in the third book, Cress, which I am currently reading. In this book there aren’t really many characters that I hate, except the Order of the Pack. Which is funny, since I like the part they play in the story.

Lastly I can just day that I would absolutely recommend this book as well as the entire series to anyone, as I think that anyone can find something to enjoy in these books. They have already become some of my favorites, which I can’t say to often, even though I already said it PRETTY often!!

Thank you guys for reading!! Have you read this book? And if yes, what did you think of it? I’d love to hear y’all’s opinion and I hope y’all will have a great week and day (depending on your time zone) 😉

8 thoughts on “Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

  1. Laura @readinglust says:

    These books are just amazing, they are pure fun, and the rich plot intertwined with the fairy-tale retellings just make them so great. Plus they are highly addictive! And all the characters are amazing. Have fun reading Cress, since every book seems to be better than the last one. Thorne is amazing though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • a word about books says:

      I’m already in Love with the book, with Cress (and her Family tree 😉) and I absolutely love that I’ll get to know Thorne even better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

