The Design by R.S. Grey

Short description:

Five minutes until the interview begins.

Fresh on the heels of her college graduation, Cameron Heart has landed an interview at a prestigious architecture firm.

Four minutes until the interview.

She knows she’s only the because the owner, Grayson Cole, is her older sister’s friend.

Three minutes.

For the last seven years, Grayson has been the most intimidating man Cammie has ever had the pleasure, or displeasure, of being around.

Two minutes.

But the job opportunity is too good to pass up. So, Cammie will have to ignore the fact that Greyson is handsome enough to have his own national holiday.

One.

After all, she shouldn’t feel that way about her new boss. And, he will be her new boss.

“I’m not intimidated by you”, I said with a confident smile. “Perhaps we should fix that, Ms. Heart. Close the door.”

(Source: Amazon)

You can also find a short sample here.

What’s it about?

First off some main info:

Author: R.S. Grey

Title: The design

Published: February 19th 2015

Series: A Heart Novel (I personally don’t really consider it a series, since it is just two books and they aren’t that connected)

Version: Amazon Kindle Version (345 pages)

Time it took: A few hours (including breaks)

In my opinion you can’t really get a lot of information out of the short description Amazon provides, so here’s what I think is a better one.  Cameron Heart, better known as Cammie, just finished her master’s degree in architecture and is now trying to find a job at an architecture firm to get by until leaving for Paris in a few months. Bad luck is just that her chosen company is owned by High school crush and her sister’s friend Grayson Cole (or is it luck?).  When Grayson admits his attraction to Cammie in the job interview, but promises not to act on it, she is determined to make him break this promise. Well isn’t that a good idea: Getting your boss to sleep with you…To make sure I don’t reveal too much information in advance I’ll keep it short. When Cameron starts her new job she is confronted with a team leader who doesn’t take her seriously, a conniving roommate and of course her infatuation with her boss, who keeps bringing in women for lunch.

My Opinion

I read this book on a more or less free Thursday and it was a pretty good fill-in and I enjoyed most of it a lot. This book and other books, that I’ve read by this author contain a lot of humor and easily likeable characters with everyday flaws that make them more human. I have to say that I am not a big fan of stories where one tries to have an affair with their boss, since most of the time it works out almost perfectly. By that I mean that the job doesn’t get in the couples’ way most of the time which I think isn’t realistic. Not that I can speak from experience obviously…As I said, I really liked the characters and Cammie’s is one that I can relate to on some levels, which makes her my favorite in this book. Cammie is a really strong, determined, and mostly confident young woman who I admire a lot for those qualities but also her “faults” like her stubbornness and the inability to admit her mistake of staying in Paris for as long as she did. Another thing about this book that I enjoyed was the writing style, which was easy, refreshing and just fun to read.  Grey had a way of making even the “sad”scenes in the book to seem not as sad which I think fit in with the whole idea and genre of the book. I wouldn’t have enjoyed a scene that would have made me cry in this context. My last few words are gonna be about the book cover. I love it. It’s clean, with a simple image and nice, matching colors, which is good for a person like me, who sometimes judges a book by its cover. But only at the beginning, I swear. All in all I’d say this book is good to read on a lazy day if you want to laugh a little and don’t want the book to weight down too heavy or to take too much concentration to understand. I don’t have a rating system yet so I’d just give it 3.7 Stars for now.

My Apologies

Okay so if you’re reading this you’ve read my first ever book review and I know it’s far from good but for the first time I did my best. Leading up to my next few posts I want to try to come up with a rating system and also to put some finalizing touches to my blog. I hope you enjoyed my review even though it’s lacking in some departments. Maybe you could make some suggestions in the comments about what specifically I could do better. Thanks for reading and hopefully see you for my next post.

Leave a Reply

